Disney Princess Characters Revealed!

7 Mar

Disney Princess fever has hit our house full-force. It’s all Princess all the time around here. Poor Hello Kitty has been cast aside for Emma’s new besties: Belle, Ariel, Jasmine, Snow White, and Cinderella. The Disney Princess movies are on heavy rotation here at The Little Hen House and it’s Princess dress-up central 24/7.

We’ve  ditched the “Toddler Songs” CD in favor for “Disney Princesses: The Ultimate Song Collection.” I act like this is some huge aggravation, but internally? I am thrilled. I love singing along to all my childhood Disney favorites (I’m partial to Belle and Ariel), and it’s so cute to hear Emma singing along with me.

The Disney Princess revival happening in my life has got me wondering, “Who are the actors behind these animated characters?” Well my friends, I am about to reveal to you the faces behind some of the most famous Disney Princess characters of all time:

Cinderella played by Ilene Woods:

Aladdin played by Scott Weinger:

(Fun Fact: That’s DJ Tanner’s boyfriend from Full House!)

Belle played by Paige O’Hara:

Ariel played by Jodi Benson:

Aurora (aka: Sleeping Beauty) played by Mary Costa:

Gaston played by Richard White:

Jasmine sung by Lea Salonga :

Snow White played by Adriana Caselotti:

Tiana played by Anika Noni Rose:

Ursula the Sea Witch Pat Carroll:

Elmo played by Kevin Clash:

(Ok- I know that Elmo isn’t a Disney character, but OMG! That’s Elmo!)

Tell me: Were you surprised by any of these faces?

This post can also be seen here at Rated by Mom.

25 Responses to “Disney Princess Characters Revealed!”

  1. BalancingMama (Julie) March 7, 2011 at 6:35 am #

    I remember when the guy behind Elmo was on Oprah. I was shocked! We have a little princess here too, especially after just visiting Disney World. She even wore her crown out for pizza yesterday.

    • The Little Hen House March 8, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

      All of Emma’s friends have been hit with Princess fever. Was Disney World so much fun? We took Emma to Disneyland over the holidays and it was awesome. I probably would have had a nervous breakdown and needed to cash out my 401k if we had stayed there more than half a day, but the four hours were were there were magical.

  2. Ashley March 7, 2011 at 8:37 am #

    WE are currently living in Elmo-land right now… and CARS land… so it would seem that Disney is slowly making it’s way into our house as well! (well, minus the elmo)

  3. Veronica March 7, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    You just blew me and my husband’s minds. I had no idea Elmo was black! Or a man.

    • The Little Hen House March 8, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

      Or hot! It’s ok to think Elmo is kind of hot now, right? I totally thought he was a 40 year old white woman.

  4. Mad Woman behind the Blog March 7, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    Shhhh, don’t let Maddy see this. The child has been a princess since she first laid in my husband’s arms. It runs in the family: her cousin, been a long self admirer in any reflective surface and don’t get me started on the husband!

    And pssst: I remember when the Little Mermaid came out, and you’re making feel really old!

  5. Alexandria March 7, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    The only ones I knew were Elmo, Aladdin, Tianna & Ariel (which is my personal fav) but I have no idea who the other people are.

  6. Talkative Taurus March 7, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    What a great idea for a post! I loved seeing the real faces behind the voices. My nieces and nephews look at me like I’m a circus freak when I tell them we only had 3 princesses growing up-Cinderella, Snow White, and Sleeping Beauty. They are all like, “Those are the lamest ones!” Yeah, well we didn’t have the same technology then either, ya brats! 🙂

    TalkativeTaurus.com

    • MutantSupermodel March 7, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

      HAHAHA I knew the Elmo one. Belle looks mean.

      Daughter’s favorite princesses are Jasmine and Belle thank the good lord because one is sassy and the other likes books. Oh and she seems to be fond of Tiana– also good. Personally, I’m a villians fan Maleficent being my creme de la creme.

    • The Little Hen House March 8, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

      I remember how high tech the Lion King was when it came out. Now it’s looks almost as one dimensional as Snow White. The cartoons now are incredible!

  7. Tonya March 7, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    Okay, I feel a little like the day I discovered Santa Claus wasn’t real. Thanks for that!

    However, I loved the fan fact.

  8. Tonya March 7, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

    make that FUN fact. 🙂

    • The Little Hen House March 8, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

      Haha! I cannot believe that is DJ’s boyfriend! Although, I do remember his character being kind of whiny and Aladdin is a total PIA, so it makes sense.

  9. gigi March 7, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    fun fact:

    Jodi Benson went to a tiny little liberal arts college in the middle of central Illinois called Millikin University.

    That is my alma mater.

    That’s all 🙂

  10. joanne March 7, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

    the real gaston is a pretty good looking dude :)… don’t tell my husband because he’ll say, “really? you like that kind of guy? huh!”

    • The Little Hen House March 8, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

      I was thinking the same thing! Emma tells me she has a crush on Gaston. Oh brother….

  11. theprimamomma March 7, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    My daughter hates watching The Little Mermaid with me because I can’t help quoting every line. It’s a sickness, really.

    I totally knew about Aladdin being DJ’s boyfriend – Hollywood is such a weird/small world.

    • The Little Hen House March 8, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

      I can recite every line to The Little Mermaid soundtrack- and that was well before I had kids. I’m in heaven.

  12. Molly On Money March 8, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    I knew Elmo, but I’m a huge muppet fan. My mom just gave me my Burt puppet from when I was 7. I don’t know what to do with him?!
    My daughter was obsessed more with having blond hair than the actual princess aspect. Her Dad bought her a Cinderella costume- she just wanted it for the blond wig!

    • The Little Hen House March 8, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

      Lol! I’m so glad Emma loves Snow White right now because she has the perfect hair for it. I’m going to be so sad if she gets blonde envy. Bert may go for a pretty penny on Ebay. Just sayin’.

  13. Ilana @ mommyshorts March 10, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

    I love seeing the faces behind the cartoons! Or the muppets as they may be. I talk badly about pink and princessy all the time but you know what? I love pink. And I love the songs from Beauty and the Beast…

    Don’t tell anyone.

Leave a Reply

