So, You Think You Can Potty Dance?

8 Mar

There’s nothing like potty training to motivate you to totally geek out for your kid. Case in point- The Potty Dance. In my house, The Potty Dance goes like this: Pick any children’s song, change the words to pertain to anything potty, and dance around like you’ve had 15 cups of coffee and 4 Diet Cokes. Doesn’t my life sound glamorous?

Before I go any further, I have to be 100% honest here: Pull Ups contacted me and asked if I wanted to write about their Potty Dance Party. Wait! You guys should know by now that I’m naturally wary of PR related blogs and I wouldn’t write about something unless I totally thought it was worth your while, so bear with me here. Plus, there’s some free stuff in it for you guys. See? Sometimes reading my blog really does pay off!

Well, I checked out the Potty Dance Party info at The Pull Ups website and there was some really great info on there. There are tons of free resources to help parents get their kids interested in using the potty. There is a free dowloadable potty progress chart, an iGo Potty app, and you can even request a free Big Kid potty training DVD. If there’s one thing I know: mom’s like free stuff- especially if it motivates our little guys to get that poo poo in the potty, and NOT on the floor like someone’s little girl did once. *cough*

You know what else I learned at the Pull Ups website? There is an official Potty Dance. Apparently, I have been doing it all wrong. They have a pretty sweet video of Ralph’s World performing the official Potty Dance, and while I’d like to think MY potty dance is in the spirit of “interpretive” dance, the Pull Ups Potty Dance has way more mainstream appeal. I mean, the kids on the video are crazy for it-even the parents are getting into it.

This is the best part:

I have to tell you about something else super cool. Pull Ups has a Facebook page, and you guys can go on there and ask for potty training tips. Dr. Gwenn, a pediatrician, mom, and Pull-Ups Potty training parter, is available to answer all your tough potty training questions. I had the opportunity to participate in a conference call where she answered a bunch of real-life potty training questions and she was amazing! I learned a ton of really interesting information like: constipation can lead to potty training issues because a backed up colon puts pressure on the bladder. Totally gross but equally fascinating, right? She’s very real and honest and she doesn’t shove a bunch of Pull Ups jargon down your throat. She actually answers questions with real responses. How refreshing!

Ready for more free stuff?

For all my Southern California friends: Pull Ups is having a Potty Dance Party at the San Diego Zoo on Wednesday, March 23rd from 10-11:30am. The event is totally free with San Diego Zoo admission. There will be a performance from Ralph’s World (awesome!) and more  The tent has a 500 person capacity; first come, first admitted. You know I’ll be there, so come hang out with me!

Once last chance for free stuff!

I’m giving away one Pull-Ups Potty Dance Party Pack. It’s full of fun potty training gear for your Big Kid plus coupons for Pull-Ups. Leave a comment below and consider yourself entered. The giveaway will end on Friday, March 11th 2011, so get those comments in!

“Pull-Ups® training pants provided product, incentives and a reader giveaway for me to attend the Potty Dance Party. However, my opinions on the product and The Potty Dance experience are entirely my own and I have not been paid to publish positive sentiments towards Pull-Ups® or their products.”

13 Responses to “So, You Think You Can Potty Dance?”

  1. Tonya March 8, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    We are about to start potty training in my house, so I will definitely check out the Pull Ups Web site for tips. Lord knows I’m going to need ’em. Thanks.

  2. anjobanjo22 March 8, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    This was full of information that will come in handy in 6 months. At least I know where to get help if potty training gets too much too handle. 🙂

  3. MutantSupermodel March 9, 2011 at 7:13 am #

    I’m in for Pull-Ups because my two year old needs to get the potty thing done before August or I’m in a pickle. I hate potty training 😦

  4. Mad Woman behind the Blog March 9, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    Want to place a bet on the likelihood I get the Mad potty trained in the next 10 weeks? Dreaming, ain’t I?

    But thank you, I’ve been overwhelmed by the amount of info out there, I’d rather go to a site recommended by a friend whose opinion I trust.

  5. Mandy March 9, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

    We’re contemplating potty training. Either that or go up to adult sized diapers soon. Well, not really, but it’s getting close.

  6. Katy March 9, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    We’re about to start round 2 of potty training our daughter after an unsuccessful attempt a year ago. Wish us luck.

  7. Dianna March 9, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    We love our PullUps. We use them at night and it seems like it is helping with the potty training”)

  8. BreeAnna M March 9, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

    yay for giveaways

  9. Nicole L March 9, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    Is this how you enter? I never win these things but you just had to tempt me didn’t you Mandy?!

  10. Jerissa March 9, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

    Amazing how different kids are. #1 was potty trained by 18 months and totally dry through the night by 28 months (new preemie baby at 20 months slowed the process a little). That new baby has very little desire to potty train at 2 yrs and 4 months…it’s driving me nuts. sigh…

  11. kathy h March 9, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

    I’d love to win.. I can use all the help I can get!

  12. Victor March 10, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

    We’re about to start training our little girl soon & I’ve seen the commercial for the Potty Dance which were silly at first, but now my little girl does the dance.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wordless Wednesday: Just Call Me The Chicken Whisperer « The Little Hen House - March 9, 2011

    […] I’m hosting a giveaway! Leave a comment on this post and consider yourself in the running for some free Pull-Ups gear. Do […]

Leave a Reply

