Dear Starbucks, Are We Still Friends?

15 Mar

Starbucks has unveiled its latest petite sugar bomb: The Cake Pop. Be still my beating heart.


Dear Starbucks,

A little birdie told me something: You are offering a new epicurean delight to your customers. It’s called a cake pop, but you already knew that, didn’t you?

I made a special trip to your fancy, recently remodeled location on Orange Avenue for a taste of this delicious goodness, and what did I find? Nothing. There was not a cake pop in sight.

Did you really think you could get away with this? Did you think I wouldn’t notice the considerable lack of cake pops in your shiny display case? Do you not know me at all?

I’m going to give you the benefit of the doubt and forgive the oversight. Maybe there was some sort of disaster in your cake pop factory, which resulted in a cake pop shortage. It’s also possible that the cake pop truck overturned on the highway during its scheduled cake pop delivery. Or maybe, just maybe, a band of cake pop thieves intercepted the cake pop drop-off and they are being sold on the black market. Anything is possible when it comes to cake pops.

I don’t want this little incident to come between us, but just so you know: I’ll be back. You better not let this happen again. Or else.

Lots of Love,

Morgan

This post can also be seen at my weekly lifestyle column, “Following the Yellow Brick Road” at Coronado Patch.

27 Responses to “Dear Starbucks, Are We Still Friends?”

  1. Mad Woman behind the Blog March 15, 2011 at 6:37 am #

    I haven’t tried these and in my current state, I must resist: EVERYTHING has turned into an addiction. It isn’t pretty.
    You did forget one scenario: a cakepop crazy pregnant lady bought out the store!

  2. anjobanjo22 March 15, 2011 at 6:55 am #

    I think I would be upset too if I was expecting a delicious treat and nothing was in sight. Hmph!

    • The Little Hen House March 16, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

      I’ve got a time and date set to try again. Hopefully it won’t disappoint!

  3. Everyday Mama March 15, 2011 at 6:56 am #

    It was me!! I was lazy and bought 40 of them for Lily’s birthday party. Everyone thought I homemade them….yeah, right!

  4. BevE March 15, 2011 at 7:05 am #

    Too cute – hope Starbucks see this post : D

  5. MutantSupermodel March 15, 2011 at 7:46 am #

    Oh those are cute. I wonder if they’re easy to make?

    • The Little Hen House March 16, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

      I’ve seen some tutorials online. They don’t look too hard. I know if I made a batch that I would eat them all though. It’s much safer for me to buy them in singles.

  6. Jessica H. March 15, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    I got a free one the other day when they were sampling, Morgan, the birthday cake flavor totally disappointed me. I hope that brings you some peace. 😉

  7. gigi March 15, 2011 at 9:19 am #

    @Starbucks on this one, Morgan!

    Gosh, they look good.

  8. Kimberly March 15, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    Cake on a Popsicle stick? Nom nom nom

  9. Lucky Dame March 15, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    Just as I mastered making cake pops….I can go buy them at Starbucks. Grrr!

    • The Little Hen House March 16, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

      You know how to make them? May I suggest a tutorial? If not for me, then for the rest of humanity?

  10. Paige Morgan March 15, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    I think you are being very mature about the whole thing. I hope it gets fixed soon, I would hate for there to be cake pop riots!

    • The Little Hen House March 16, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

      I’m doing my best to maintain my dignity. Given the circumstances, I think I’m doing quite well. 🙂

  11. Paige Morgan March 15, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    PS – You had me cake. With or without pop.

  12. Tonya March 15, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    I don’t drink coffee, but cake sparks by interest any place, any time.

  13. Ilana @ mommyshorts March 17, 2011 at 5:52 am #

    I was not aware of these cake pops. And now I can think of nothing else.

  14. Jana@AnAttitudeAdjustment March 17, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    I’ve been wondering when Starbucks was going to get its act together. Once they got rid of items with Trans Fats (good idea, sure), it seemed like slim pickings. But the petites? Oh my God. This past week, I’ve become an addict! Mine has these little chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter icing and little dollops of Reese’s Peanut Butter cups. I haven’t even seen cake pops, but maybe that’s a good thing. Gotta watch my belly and my wallet!

    (And I’m usually not one to do this, but have you tried the cocoa cappuccino? Oh. my. God.)

  15. Mrs. Wonder March 20, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    I had a tiramisu one the other day. Homemade is so much better, but it was a nice snack I could eat while in the car.

Leave a Reply

