Top Ten Things in My Life That Are Giving Me Anxiety

17 Mar

1. The unfinished photo project in my hallway.

2. The unfinished baby clothing organization project.

3. The unfinished plant potting project on my doorstep (do you notice a trend here?).

4. This mysterious worm I found in my bathroom last night. I also found one in Emma’s room. We’ve had enough worms thankyouverymuch.

5. This pile of unread mail (aka: unopened bills).

6. This pile of laundry. At least it’s clean?

7. This pile of things I need to sell on Craigslist (notice another trend here?).

8. Voicemails, emails, my google reader, Facebook, Twitter, etc, etc, etc…

9. Emma’s impending summer vacation (aka: both kids at home with me 24/7).

10. That little “radioactive plume” that’s floating around in the atmosphere right now. Oh, and the thousands and thousands of people who were affected by the tsunami, and the nuclear power plants that are (possibly) melting down. Just stuff like that.

Tell me: What’s giving you anxiety these days?

Did you catch my announcement about Dr. Mom Mondays? Don’t forget to email your Dr. Mom question to morgan(at)thelittlehenhouse(dot)com.

46 Responses to “Top Ten Things in My Life That Are Giving Me Anxiety”

  1. Melonie March 17, 2011 at 7:12 am #

    I am the same way. I will wake up in the morning with a list of things like this in my mind. This morning at 6am: laundry in the hall way, mail and paper sitting on the counter, more to do papers on my desk, bill payment my credit card is out of control, the sweater I need to take back to Banana Republic, pillows on my couch are a mess. And yes the environment imploding from a nuclear meltdown thousands of miles away. God help me.

  2. Ironic Mom March 17, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    All of the above. And marking. (I teach English). Sigh.

    • anjobanjo22 March 17, 2011 at 10:41 am #

      Things that are giving me anxiety…dishes, laundry, and the thought of lugging my children around town for errands. Yeah, that’s about it. 🙂

    • The Little Hen House March 20, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

      You are a saint.

  3. Nina March 17, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    Ahh, piles! We all have them 🙂 Although I tend to not photograph mine. I feel like they are less ‘eternal’
    if they aren’t captured on film, so-to-speak.

    • The Little Hen House March 20, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

      I think I wrote this post to motivate me to take care of business. It’s so in my face right here.

  4. Leigh Ann March 17, 2011 at 11:38 am #

    Kids. Not. Napping. That is all.

  5. Mad Woman behind the Blog March 17, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    Avoiding maternity pants at all costs.
    Deciding on dinner and getting my child to eat.
    And the pending arrival of a BOY in my house. ACK!

    And all the stuff you listed too.

    • The Little Hen House March 20, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

      Girlfriend! You are having a baby in two months. Bust out the maternity wear already. Better yet- start wearing pajama pants every day.

  6. Lori Dyan March 17, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    The last time I out a photo in an album was my 7 yo son’s 2nd birthday. It haunts me. But then I turn on the news and I feel guilty about caring about the photos…then I – ugh. Nevermind. Going to bed. Which hasn’t been made since January. At least we all have each other 😀

    • The Little Hen House March 20, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

      I have drawers and drawers of photos. I figure I’ll get them sorted out when I retire. In like sixty years.

  7. Jana@AnAttitudeAdjustment March 17, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    I’ve been known to advertise my messy house as something that gives me anxiety. It’s therapeutic, right? I think it sort of separates you from the things a bit and makes you feel a little better. Taking a picture of it, for instance, makes you feel like an outsider, rather than “in” it.

    As you can tell, I’ve thought a lot about this topic!

    Hope that your post helps you feel less anxious! (Because it’s making all of us feel better purely by means of solidarity.)

    • The Little Hen House March 20, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

      You are so spot on! I’m organizing my mess by taking pictures of it and putting them into a post. They look much tidier that way.

  8. Tim@sogeshirts March 17, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    Oh my yes you have had enough worms for sure. Summer with both the kids could be tough too. Hope they are good for you. Besides work giving me anxiety driving has been giving me terrible anxiety lately. Anytime I get home I feel lucky to be alive. Another close call today with some psycho cutting me off about 1/5th of a car length in front of me. Good times.

  9. Leighann March 17, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    I’m so glad someone else’s couch looks like mine

  10. Paige Morgan March 17, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    I have to add, trying to raise my kids to be the best they can be… while not killing them!

    Great list!

  11. Yuliya March 17, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    How did you even manage to prioritize this list? Ack! And a virtual hug to you.

  12. Ana March 17, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

    AhhH!! My anxiety list. Holy flying chicken poo, it’s longer than my arm it seems.

    #1 anxiety for right now: my husband has been asked to put in for a job down in Hawaii. Anxious about moving to Hawaii? Total torture right?! Yeah, but both my brothers already live down there, and if we move down, my parents would be here on the mainland by themselves…away from all grandchildren. And I haven’t even mentioned all of this to them yet, and I’m already having heart palpitations!

    #2 anxiety: I have a book that I’m working on for my first born (who was born in May) that I have a feeling will never get done. Once again, chicken poo.

    Ah well, at least all this anxiety is keeping my blood pressure up at a normal level. LOL!!

    • The Little Hen House March 20, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

      May! Meh- you’ve got at least another 6 years until you have to show it to him. I hope everything works out with the Hawaii job. Maybe the grandparents can move too? You’ll need the babysitters! I mean, it’s important to be close to family….

  13. Molly On Money March 18, 2011 at 7:54 am #

    I create anxiety in other people when they come over and see all the projects we having ‘going’ (or just sitting there for 3 years).

  14. Mom Went Crazy March 18, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    Oh, yowza. I have a similar list of stuff around the house. For some masochistic reason I HAD to start a blog, too. Like I don’t have enough to do

  15. erin margolin March 18, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    pretty much same list here..except add to it the fact that I donated/handed down all those bads of old baby/kid clothes? and now I need them back.

    😉

  16. erin margolin March 18, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    oops, that should be “bags,” not “bads.”

  17. katiezoe March 18, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

    Ugh…your project pictures could be mine. Working on the same stressors.
    Good luck!

    • The Little Hen House March 20, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

      I want my house to look like a Pottery Barn catalog. Is that too much to ask?

  18. Ally March 18, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    With exception to the funky worm and the baby clothes, I’m pretty sure those are pictures of my projects. I mean, my unfinished projects. It has been very stressful thinking about Japan and the radiation cloud that’s moving over us, no matter how harmless they say it is.

    And about those worms – just clicked back and read your pinworm post. OH MY! I’m kinda speechless about all that! I will say though – my parents just sold their place on San Juan Island, with a very similar view – it is kinda heavenly waking up to that! (minus worms)

    • The Little Hen House March 20, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

      Minus the worms is right! How cool that you are familiar with the San Juan Islands too! Isn’t is incredible?

  19. BabyBumpBeyond Heather March 18, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

    I’m really really good at the first 2 and would be happy to come over anytime to help you finish those projects! I’m not so good with controlling radioactive plumes of smoke… but I do what I can 🙂

  20. MamaOnDaGo March 18, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

    Anxiety kicked up notches! I have 8 out of the 10 on your list. I never even started framing & planting because the other 8 things were starting to push me over the edge.

    • The Little Hen House March 20, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

      I had these grand plans for the front of my house and now I’ll be lucky if I can just get some soil and succulents in the pots. Sigh…

  21. Jules March 19, 2011 at 8:19 am #

    I am so not willing to go through my house and show you what is giving me anxiety!!

  22. Kimberly March 20, 2011 at 6:04 am #

    The hallway of photos? I love! I think it looks good even if it’s not finished 😉
    Oh and I give you tons of respect for showing the piles of whatnots…I don’t even dare show you the dog hair tumble weeds lining my hallways that gives me anxiety and hair in my mouth 😦

    • The Little Hen House March 20, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

      Ack! Hair in mouth = vom fest. I made a baby step forward and put pictures in the rest of the frames. That should buy me at least another month until I actually have to hang them. 😉

  23. Christina March 20, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

    Um, I have an addition to the picture wall anxiety… I am missing two frames, all the pictures need updated (We have had 2 kids since I started) and three frames are picture-less WITH the price tags still on the glass.

    The worm? GAG.

Leave a Reply

